View Single Post
Old 03-07-2011, 11:17 AM   #102 (permalink)
BLM
Enthusiast Member

Drives: 2011 Silver M6 sport
BLM will become famous soon enough

I hear what you're saying, but you're stating something obvious. A 5.0 Liter motor with 1300 more cc making 100 more hp than the Z will beat it around an extended road course with a highly skilled driver. The fact of the matter is that most people with fast cars can't drive them. I'm not a pro, but i'm certainly not an amateur. I remember when I first starting tracking cars even Miata's scared the crap out of me. Even with a GTR and its hi tech awd it takes a very good driver to get anywhere near the car's potential around a track. The Z is a pure sports car. The mustang is a muscle car with a lot of handling upgrades and aggressive gearing. Just because they're in the same price range doesnt mean they should be compared. And in terms of a Z beating an M3? Again with pro drivers it would be more disparate than with anything else. Unless you or I can duplicate these performance numbers, it's all a theoretical argument. But again you're comparing cars with difference in pricetag of $30,000 and 90-100 hp. A more appropriate comparison would be against an E46 M3, which was still drastically more expensive than a sport or even Nismo Z.