View Single Post
Old 06-22-2010, 03:03 PM   #36 (permalink)
phelan
A True Z Fanatic

Drives: Scoobaroo
phelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond reputephelan has a reputation beyond repute

Perhaps this is a question better suited to Ravi Dolwani and his technical staff (welcome to the forum, by the way). I'm also fairly new to the heat exchanger business, but there are somethings I'd like to understand, if nothing else then for my own curiosity.

I think of the radiator as I would a straighforward 2-circuit heat exchanger, crossflow. The air circuit is your 'cold' circuit, and the coolant running through the radiator is the 'hot' circuit. The radiator dissipates the heat stored in the fluid to the air. Correct? Pretty simple liquid-to-air heat exchanger.

Quote:
The design (inlet in the middle of tube that is seam brazed) increases the heat transfer surface area of the tube by approximately 15% over regular tubes. You get the efficiency of 2 smaller tubes vs. 1 large tube within the same space criteria. With "B-tubes" you are able to get "dual liquid laminar flow."
Okay, so I'm on board with the increase in surface area, that's fine by me. I assume the 'B' part of the tube, is that done for structural support purposes, to give added safety to a large flat surface. I might be wrong on that, but I would hesitate to have a large flat surface without some sort of support. Then again, my background is in aerospace, so I may be over-exaggerating the details.